Getting to know you, getting to know all about you. . .

23 May

I have wanted to start a blog for a long time, if for nothing else but to archive all the funny and crazy things that happen in my life.  I tell my husband all the time, after reliving a particularly personal chat with a perfect stranger, “People tell me the craziest things all the time!  I don’t know why!” 

I’ve been seriously considering starting the blog for a long time, but what to write about?  Me?  That’s so narcissistic.  My family?  Intrusive maybe.  What’s a girl to do?  A few weeks ago my friend (and I will NOT say “work friend” because that assumes a certain level of intimacy that non-work friendships have hasn’t been reached. ) Melanie sent me some links to food blogs she likes to review for recipes.  Melanie often brings in treats to work and everything she has made has been awesome!  My favorite may be her Maple Scones, or her Sweet and Salty Cookies.  YUM.  So any blog she reviews and prepares recipes from is good in my book!  She’s the one that introduced me to Taste of Home, and that’s the coup de gras of recipe collections in my book.  So after perusing the sites and wiping the large pool of drool off my keyboard, I had an epiphany-write about food!  Yes!  That’s the answer.  Let me interject here for a second and mention that I was also on a 40 day fast from sugar, carbs, and most fats at the time and that possibly influenced my decision.  Let me further state that it was during this time, after a particularly epic meltdown (complete with tears and a hissy fit) over a cupcake that Melanie had made for Easter that had a tiny Cadbury Creme Egg in the center and homemade buttercream frosting that my husband had hidden from me (at my behest), that I came to the realization that I’m a food addict.  Moving right along.   Thus offthechaney was born.

Tomorrow I’ll share my story of the subtitle, “Confessions of a Cookie Licker.”

One Response to “Getting to know you, getting to know all about you. . .”

  1. Kristi Webb May 23, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    I can’t wait! You are such a talented writer. So excited to hear more!

Leave a Reply

